Tech women third, men seventh at Sewanee Invitational

Stephanie Place wins with course record time

SEWANEE, Tenn. -- Seniors Stephanie Place and Keri Light led a balanced effort by the Tennessee Tech women's cross country team in claiming third place among 16 teams at the Sewanee Invitational Saturday morning. In the men's race, the Golden Eagles placed seventh among the 16 teams.

Place was in a familiar position, crossing the finish line ahead of all other 148 runners in the 5K race, capturing first place at Sewanee for the second consecutive year. Her winning time of 17:55.05 was a full 15 seconds better than the second-place finisher, and set a new course record.

Tech's third place showing was the team's highest at Sewanee. It came on a foggy day in middle Tennessee, which set the stage for an exciting finish for Place. Trailing by 50 yards with a mile remaining, she disappeared into the fog shrouding the course. When she emerged, she had a 100-yard lead and cruised to the win.

Light claimed 12th place overall in 19:33.20, while Tiffany Palmer ended the day in 25th place with a time of 20:10.86. Ashley Evans placed 37th in 20:35.54, and freshman Traci Jones placed 36th in 20:49.59. Amanda Simmons also ran for Tech, finishing in 21:41.16.

The strong across-the-board finish by Tony Cox' runners allowed Tech to finish a strong third with 103 points, edging out Rhodes (112) and Evasnville (117). Mississippi State won the race with 30 points, followed by Emory with 69.

In the men's race, Mississippi State took the team title with 27 points, followed by Emory (41), Centre (91), Evansville (124) and Lee (151) in the top five. Tech had 207 points for its seventh place showing.

Ben Shassere was Tech's top finisher, placing 31st i 27:41.25. Four spots back in 35th place, Joseph DeLorenzo finished in 27:48.10, while Sam Taylor was 38th in 27:50.57. Tech's top five finishers also included Peter Woerner (28:20.85) and Jarrad Read (28:51.25).

Tech's runners have next weekend off before returning to action Saturday, Sept. 20, at the Vanderbilt Invitational.