Greene, Cline lead Golden Eagles in final regular season meet

Greene, Cline lead Golden Eagles in final regular season meet

Click here to see men's results

Click here to see women's results

EVANSVILLE, Ind. – John Greene set a new personal-best for the fifth consecutive meet, finishing the UE Invitational in 26:17.96 to take 17th overall out of 122 runners Saturday in the final regular season meet of the season for Tennessee Tech.

Greene's time bested his previous PR, set a week ago at the JSU Foothills Invitational, by 11 seconds. Greene, a junior from Friendsville, Tenn., has set personal records in every meet he has run this season.

Behind Greene's performance, the Golden Eagle men finished seventh out of 12 teams at the UE Invitational while Tech's women placed ninth of 11 squads. The Golden Eagles now have two weeks to prepare for the Ohio Valley Conference Championships on Oct. 29 at Eastern Kentucky.

Rebecca Cline led the Tennessee Tech women for the second consecutive week, finishing the 5Kwith a time of 19:46.97 to finish 39th in the field of 111 runners.

Six Golden Eagles set new personal records, five coming on the men's side and one on the women's.

On the men's side, Matt Bishop was the second Golden Eagle finisher, completing the 8K in 27:14.22 to place 43rd overall. Mike Mahan and Adam McLeod finished nearly side by side, both setting new personal-bests and coming in at 27:36.93 and 27:37.70, while Sterling Smith rounded out Tech's top five with a time of 28:32.54, also a personal-best. Charlie Jordan and Matt Pennycuff were the sixth and seventh Golden Eagles to finish with times of 29:30 and 29:50 respectively. Jordan's time was a personal-record.

Peri Winborne was Tech's second finisher on the women's side, crossing the finish line at 19:53.08 and finishing 42nd. Leah Bradley was the third Golden Eagle to come in at 20:19.73 followed by Beth Miller at 20:36.48 and Traci Jones at 20:39.23. Meghan O'Donaghue and Amelia McCoy were the sixth and seventh Tech finishers, with times of 20:45 and 20:48, respectively. O'Donaghue's time was a personal record.

Southern Illinois won the men's race, scoring 26 points. IUPUI placed second with 63 points while Marshall was third with 101. Evansville (103), Southeast Missouri (109), Belmont (130), Tennessee Tech (212), Morehead State (226), Valparaiso (252), Vincennes (272), Lipscomb (324), and Marian (360) rounded out the field.

Future OVC member Belmont won the women's race with 32 points. The Bruins were followed by Southern Illinois with 57 points and Evansville with 96. Murray State (124), Lipscomb (125), Southeast Missouri (146), Morehead State (164), Valparaiso (172), Tennessee Tech (242), Marshall (260), and Marian (290) rounded out the field.

Summer Cano, an unattached runner, won the women's race with a time of 18:01.80, while Marshall's Matt Schiffbauer took the men's race with a time of 25:08.96.