#TTUPurplePride Tennessee Tech Logo

Ballard, Richardson win 2014 Pepsi Bobby Nichols Scramble presented by Budweiser

Click here to view photos of all flight winners
and all scores by flights

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- The team of Paul Ballard and Tim Richardson teamed up to capture the Championship Flight of the 2014 Pepsi Bobby Nichols Scramble presented by Budweiser, nipping a group of four teams that finished tied for second place, two shots behind the winners.

The pair shot an 11-under 59 on Sunday at Cookeville Golf Club to finish the grueling, three-day tournament with a 34-under par final score. Consistent play was the key to their victory, as they fired an 11-under Friday and were 12-under Saturday.

Two strokes back at 32-under in a battle for second place, four teams headed back out onto the ninth green for a chipping/putting contest to break the tie. Winning the shootout and claiming second was the team of Peyton Broyles and Austin Garrett. Blake Garrison and Dustin Thomas placed third, followed by Adam Boyd and Steve Tomsic, and the team of Gary and Lucretia Maxwell.

The 2014 tournament featured 234 two-player teams for a total of 468 golfers, playing 54 holes each at three different courses in Cookeville.

Additional information, including all scores and photos of flight winners, will be posted Tuesday. Photos of every team are available on the TTUSports Facebook page.

Flight winners:

Championship Flight - Paul Ballard and Tim Richardson
First Flight - Ryan Allison and Kyle Childress
Second Flight - Danny Brooks and Brent Harris
Third Flight - Richard Comer and Josh Rogers
Fourth Flight - Johnny Reed and Eric Wilson
Fifth Flight - Clement Smith Jr and Clement Smith
Sixth Flight - Chris Comer and Michael Wall
Seventh Flight - Paul Higdon and Bryan Johnston
Eighth Flight - Brad Geren and Louis Wheeler
Ninth Flight - Scott Black and Tom Johnson
Tenth Flight - Lee Smith and Bryan Yankee
Eleventh Flight - Mike Ganas and Carl Isbell
Twelfth Flight - Steve Kozar and Jeff Moore
Thirteenth Flight - Scott Gilbert and David Liner
Fourteenth Flight - Bo Creech and Carlton Clarington
Fifteenth Flight - Tim Dillehay and Phillip Ferrell
Sixteenth Flight - Rabbit Dale and Tom Furtsch
Seventheenth Flight - Jerry Hendrickson and Danny Swicegood

On Saturday night, the tournament featured several contests. Posted below are photos of some of the contest winners:

John Erdeljac won the Putting Contest. He is shown with Director of
Mark Wilson and his neice, Riley.

Director of Athletics Mark Wilson congratulates Eddie Kelly, who won
the $500 Chipping Contest.

The winner of the $1,000 Shot was Blake Taylor, being congratulated
by Director of Athletics Mark Wilson

Mark Rippetoe's name was drawn as the contestant for the Million Dollar
Shot. He hit his attempt true at the pin, but it came up short after rolling
onto the green. Director of Athletics Mark Wilson congratulates Mark on
his valliant attempt.