Golden Eagles ready for title hunt at OVC Championships

Golden Eagles ready for title hunt at OVC Championships

By Mike Lehman, TTU Sports Information Coordinator

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – The time has finally come for the Tennessee Tech women's golf team, as the Golden Eagles prepare to take on the other nine members of the Ohio Valley Conference at this year's tournament championship.

The 2014 Ohio Valley Conference golf championships will tee-off at The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at The Shoals in Muscle Shoals, Ala. beginning on Monday. The 54-hole women's championship will be held April 21-23.

The course will be a par 72 for each event, with the yardage running 6,203 yards.

The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at The Shoals is home to two 18-hole championship courses and lies between the Wheeler and Wilson dams on the Tennessee River. Wheeler Dam is named in honor of General Joseph "Fighting Joe" Wheeler - the only Confederate General to attain the same rank later in the United States Army.

The Fighting Joe course at The Shoals was the first Trail course to break 8,000 yards. Travel + Leisure Golf named Fighting Joe one of the top new courses in 2004. The second course, the Schoolmaster (named for President Woodrow Wilson who was responsible for getting Wilson Dam built and was also known as "The Schoolmaster" of politics), opened in the Summer of 2005.

The OVC Championship will be contested on the Fighting Joe course.

Here's an alphabetical look at the participating teams:

Austin Peay
Eastern Illinois
Eastern Kentucky
Jacksonville State
Morehead State
Murray State
Tennessee State
Tennessee Tech

"I'm looking forward to seeing how conference goes," said head coach Polk Brown. "The girls have been putting in a lot of hard work and they played well at Morehead State last Sunday. This is what we've been building towards all year. It goes by fast, but I'm pumped and I think we're ready to go make a good showing of it. I'm excited to make a run at the championship and I believe we are going to do well."

Take a look at this week's expected starting five:

  1. Whitney Robertson (Fr.)
  2. Maddi Everts (So.)
  3. Megan Williamson (So.)
  4. Lydia Triplett (Fr.)
  5. Allison Geer (So.)

The annual awards banquets will be held following the first round of play on Monday, Apr. 21. The banquets will honor the 10-member All-OVC team as well as the All-Newcomer Team and Freshman of the Year. The OVC Player of the Year, Coach of the Year as well as All-Tournament and Tournament MVP awards will be presented at the conclusion of each championship.