Senior Diana Carson captures second-team all-OVC honors

Senior Diana Carson captures second-team all-OVC honors

DICKSON, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech senior Diana Carson has been voted to the All-Ohio Valley Conference women's golf second-team, in voting by league coaches, the second time in her Golden Eagle career that she has received post-season recognition from the league. She was also a second-team all-OVC performer in her sophomore season in 2007-08.

The awards were announced Thursday evening at the OVC Tournament Awards Dinner following the first day of play at the 2010 OVC Championship.

Heading into the tournament, Carson had the low average on the Golden Eagle squad and was ranked seventh in the conference with a 78.8 stroke average.

Morehead State's Marisa Kamelgarn was named the 2009-10 OVC Freshman of the Year. The OVC Player and Coach of the Year awards will be announced Saturday afternoon following the final round of play at the Championship, which is being held at GreyStone Golf Club in Dickson, Tenn.

Kamelgarn is the first Morehead State player ever honored with the award as the MSU program is only in its second year after being re-established. A native of Mahopac, N.Y., Kamelgarn led the OVC in stroke average during the regular season (75.9), playing in 23 total rounds. She earned OVC Golfer of the Week honors three times during her rookie season.

The 2009-10 All-OVC first-team included two repeat selections, a member of the second-team from a year ago and two newcomers. Kamelgarn and sophomore teammate Emma Jonsson were both first-time selections to the top squad. The repeat selections include Austin Peay junior Chelsea Harris and Murray State senior Joyce Trus while Jacksonville State sophomore Lucia Fernandez moved up from the second-team to the first-team.

The All-OVC second-team (photo/Diana Carson far right) was comprised of Carson, a pair of Jacksonville State teammate in senior Ashley Cox (a first-team pick last year) and junior Laura Cutler (a repeat second-team selection), Murray State senior Andrea Downer (a second-team choice two years ago) and Eastern Kentucky sophomore newcomer Lisanne Schmidt.

Kamelgarn, the Freshman of the Year, headlined the five-person All-Newcomer squad along with second-team pick Schmidt. Schmidt was joined by EKU freshman teammate April Emerson and the team was rounded out by Jacksonville State freshman Ornella Arrizon and Austin Peay freshman Catherine Smith.

The 2010 OVC Women's Golf Championship continues with 18 holes on Friday and the final 18 holes on Saturday. Live scoring can be accessed through links at

Lucia Fernandez, Jacksonville State
Chelsea Harris, Austin Peay
Emma Jonsson, Morehead State
Marisa Kamelgarn, Morehead State
Joyce Trus, Murray State

Diana Carson, Tennessee Tech

Ashley Cox, Jacksonville State
Laura Cutler, Jacksonville State
Andrea Downer, Murray State
Lisanne Schmidt, Eastern Kentucky

Ornella Arrizon, Jacksonville State
April Emerson, Eastern Kentucky
Marisa Kamelgarn, Morehead State
Lisanne Schmidt, Eastern Kentucky
Catherine Smith, Austin Peay

Freshmen of the Year: Marisa Kamelgarn, Morehead State
OVC Player of the Year: TBA After Conclusion of Championship (April 24)
OVC Coach of the Year: TBA After Conclusion of Championship (April 24)