Senior Blair Bowens caps off career with second-team All-OVC honor

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech senior Blair Bowens has capped off her four-year career by earning second-team All-OVC honors in recognition of an outstanding season in 2008-09. Bowens' selection was announced Thursday night by the conference during ceremonies in Nashville as part of the OVC Tournament.

Bowens led Tech and ranked eighth in the OVC in scoring, averaging 15.2 points per game. She raised that to 16.6 points per game against conference opponents. She ranked 12th in the OVC in free throw percentage and was second on the team and 11th in the OVC in steals. She was third on the team in assists, and also chipped in 3.9 rebounds per game. She also averaged a team-high 34.5 minutes per contest, which ranked fourth in the OVC.

A 5-foot-6 guard from Tuscumbia, Ala., Bowens finished the season first in the OVC in 3-point percentage, connecting on 40.4 percent from long range. She bumped that 44.5 percent against the league. She was second in the OVC in 3-pointers made per game.

Murray State's Ashley Hayes, named as the OVC Player of the Year, heads up the All-OVC first-team. She's joined by Rachel Galligan of Eastern Illinois, Amber Guffey of Murray State, Chynna Bozeman of Morehead State, and Kendra Appling of Tennessee State. Appling was named the OVC Defensive Player of the Week.

Joining Bowens on the second team are UT Martin's Phyllisha Mitchell, April Thomas of Austin Peay, Brittany Pittman of Morehead State, Tiffany Jackson of Tennessee State and Tarina Nixon of Southeast Missouri.

Eastern Kentucky's Kayla Drake, named the Freshman of the Year, is joined on the All-Newcomer team by Jasmine Smith of Tennessee State, Brittany Wiley of Jacksonville State, Tiffany Hamilton of Morehead State and Whiteney Hanley of Austin Peay.

Murray State's Rob Cross was voted OVC Coach of the Year.

2008-09 All-Ohio Valley Conference
Women's Basketball Teams

(voted on by the league's head basketball coaches and sports information directors)

Ashley Hayes, Murray State
Rachel Galligan, Eastern Illinois
Amber Guffey, Murray State
Kendra Appling, Tennessee State
Chynna Bozeman, Morehead State 

Phyllisha Mitchell, UT Martin
April Thomas, Austin Peay
Brittany Pittman, Morehead State
Tiffany Jackson, Tennessee State
Blair Bowens, Tennessee Tech
Tarina Nixon, Southeast Missouri
      Six players appear on the second team due to a tie.

Jasmine Smith, Tennessee State
Kayla Drake, Eastern Kentucky
Brittany Wiley, Jacksonville State
Tiffany Hamilton, Morehead State
Whitney Hanley, Austin Peay

OVC Player of the Year: Ashley Hayes, Murray State
OVC Freshman of the Year: Kayla Drake, Eastern Kentucky
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Kendra Appling, Tennessee State
OVC Coach of the Year: Rob Cross, Murray State