Golden Eagle runners picked for middle-of-the-pack OVC finishes

Tech men picked sixth, women tabbed for seventh

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – The Tennessee Tech cross country teams will host the 2010 Ohio Valley Conference cross country championships on October 30, and coach Tony Cox’ teams hope running the meet on their home course might allow them to sneak up and finish higher than expected.

In a preseason vote of cross country coaches in the league, the Golden Eagle men are tabbed for a sixth place showing and the Tech women are picked for seventh place. Eastern Kentucky is picked to claim first place in both the men’s and women’s races.

“We have some experience coming back on the men’s team, but the women’s team has lost several experienced runners,” said Golden Eagle head coach Tony Cox. “I’m really anxious to see just how all of our new runners will do, and how they can help their teams. It should be a fun year.”

Leading the men’s team will be senior Sam Taylor, the team’s top finisher in six of seven races last year including a 16th place overall finish at the OVC meet to narrowly miss all-OVC recognition. Six other returnees who saw action last year for the TTU men’s squad include Chris Bishop, Steven Bretz, Daniel Francis, John Greene, Nathan Livesay, Ben Shassere and Joseph DeLorenzo, a fifth-year senior.

Tech’s newcomers are freshmen Matthew Bishop, Tyler Eads, Nathan Snow plus Drew DeLorenzo and Kolbe Andrzejewski, both of whom were redshirts last season. They will look to replace veterans Jarrad Read, Ben Thompson and Peter Woerner.

The only two runners with much experience last year who return for the women’s team are Kathryn Forbes and Traci Jones, while Morgan Taylor returns after sitting out one season as a redshirt. Newcomers hoping to fill the void by graduated veterans Tiffany Palmer and Amanda Simmons will be freshmen Leah Bradley, Brittany Brown, Rebecca Cline, Yeshi Dohrmann, Amelia McCoy, Meghan O’Donoghue, Emily Williams and Peri Winborne.

Last season the EKU men’s team claimed its 18th OVC championship and fourth in a row while the Colonel women’s program took home its 24th overall title and fourth in a row.

On the men’s side in this year’s preseason poll Eastern Kentucky received 81 points and nine first-place votes to top the list. EKU was followed by Southeast Missouri and Eastern Illinois in a tie for second (68 points each). The polling was rounded out by Jacksonville State (55), Morehead State (50), Tennessee Tech (34), UT Martin (33), Austin Peay (28), Murray State (21) and Tennessee State (12).

On the women’s side, the EKU women also claimed nine first-place votes and 81 points, and were followed by Eastern Illinois (70), Murray State (63), Southeast Missouri (59), Jacksonville State (47), Morehead State (39),  Tennessee Tech (29), Austin Peay (28), UT Martin (24) and Tennessee State (10).

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, who joined the OVC in July 2008, is still in a reclassification process to Division I and will not compete at the OVC Championship this season.

The 2010 OVC Cross Country Championships will be held Oct. 30 at a site to be determined. The first regular season action of the 2010 season occurs the first weekend of September.

(as voted on by the OVC head cross country coaches)

TEAM                                                            POINTS

1.            Eastern Kentucky (9 first-place votes)            81
2.            Southeast Missouri (1)                                  68
               Eastern Illinois                                             68
4.            Jacksonville State                                         55
5.            Morehead State                                            50
6.            Tennessee Tech                                          34
7.            UT Martin                                                     33
8.            Austin Peay                                                  28
9.            Murray State                                                21
10.          Tennessee State                                           12

(Teams awarded 9 points for a first-place vote, 8 for second, etc.)


(as voted on by the OVC head cross country coaches)

TEAM                                                            POINTS

1.            Eastern Kentucky (9 first-place votes)            81
2.            Eastern Illinois (1)                                        70
3.            Murray State                                                63
4.            Southeast Missouri                                        59
5.            Jacksonville State                                          47
6.             Morehead State                                            39
7.            Tennessee Tech                                           29
8.            Austin Peay                                                  28
9.            UT Martin                                                     24
10.           Tennessee State                                          10

(Teams awarded 9 points for a first-place vote, 8 for second, etc.)