Frank Davis receives NABC second-team all-district honors

Frank Davis receives NABC second-team all-district honors

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Tennessee Tech senior guard Frank Davis, one of the most efficient 3-point shooters in the nation, has been named second-team All-District by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

The all-district teams were announced Tuesday by the NABC, recognizing the nation’s best men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America.

Davis ranked second on the team and 10th in the Ohio Valley Conference in scoring, averaging 13.4 points per contest, while leading the Golden Eagles to 15 victories during the 2009-2010 season. He played in all 32 contests, starting 31 times, and led the team in 3-point shooting while ranking among conference and national leaders. Davis was 88-for-198 from beyond the arc, knocking down 44.4 percent of his long range shots.

On his way to setting the school record for most 3-pointers in a career, Davis ranked first in the OVC and 28th nationally in 3-pointers made per game with 2.8. He was third in the league and fifth in the nation in 3-point percentage. In addition, Davis ranked fifth in the OVC in free throw percentage and ninth in minutes played.

Tech and the OVC make up District 19 of the NABC. The all-district team included three players from Murray State, two from Eastern Kentucky, and one each from Tech, Austin Peay, Morehead State, Jacksonville State and Eastern Illinois.

The 240 student-athletes from 24 districts on the NABC all-district teams are eligible for the State Farm Division I All-America teams, to be announced on Saturday, April 3, at 11 a.m. (EDT) in Indianapolis during the NABC Convention and NCAA Final Four.

NABC All-District 19

First Team

Ivan Aska Murray State
Wesley Channels Austin Peay
Kenneth Faried Morehead State
Trenton Marshall Jacksonville State
Isacc Miles Murray State

Second Team

Frank Davis Tennessee Tech
B.J. Jenkins Murray State
Tyler Laser Eastern Illinois
Justin Stommes Eastern Kentucky
Josh Taylor Eastern Kentucky