Six Golden Eagles on College Sports Madness all-OVC squad

Six Golden Eagles on College Sports Madness all-OVC squad

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- The 2013 all-OVC football team includes six Tennessee Tech players, with two on the first-team, two second-team and two on the third-team list.

Junior linebacker Tra'Darius Goff and senior punter Chad Zinchini represent the Golden Eagles on the first-team, while second-team selections are senior offensive lineman Wesley Sherrill and senior defensive lienman Malcolm Mitchell. The third-team picks are junior safety Marty Jones and sophomore receiver/return specialist Ladarius Vanlier.

Five of those selections were listed on the all-OVC team selected by conference coaches and sports information directors. The only addition is Vanlier.

Goff, a junior linebacker from Columbia, Tenn., led the team and ranked second in the OVC in tackles-per-game. He had 101 total tackles, one shy of topping the conference, and his second consecutive season with more than 100 tackles. Zinchini, a senior from Hendersonville, Tenn., led the OVC and ranked second in the Football Championship Subdivision in punting, averagaing 45.7 yards per kick to set a school record. It broke the Tech single season record for highest average that he set last year.

Mitchell, a senior defensive end from Cincinnati, was seventh on the team in total tackles while leading the Golden Eagles and ranking among OVC leaders in quarterback sacks (7.5) and tackles-for-loss (13). He forced two fumbles, recoverd on fumble and blocked one kick. Sherrill, a senior offensive lineman from Antioch, Tenn., wrapped up his four-year career by starting in 36 games while splitting his time between tackle and guard.

Jones, a fifth-year junior from Cincinnati, was second on the team with 98 total tackles and ranked third in the OVC in tackles-per-game. He also had five tackles-for-loss, forced one fumble, recovered two fumbles, and led the team with two interceptions. Vanlier, a sophomore from Nashville, led the team in all-purpose yards with 1,278, including 635 on kick returns, 203 on punt returns, 75 receiving and 365 rushing. He averaged 23.5 yards on kickoff returns and 11.9 on punt returns. He ranked second on the team in rushing.

The complete 2013 CollegeSportsMadness All-OVC teams:

  All-OVC First Team  
  Offense   Defense  
  QB Jimmy Garoppolo, Eastern Illinois DL Antonio Harper, Tennessee State  
  RB Shephard Little, Eastern Illinois   DL Anthony Bass, Tennessee State  
  RB Damcarcus James, Jacksonville State DL Pat Wertz, Eastern Illinois  
  WR Jeremy Butler, Tennessee-Martin DL D.J. Roberts, Tennessee-Martin  
  WR Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois   LB Ben Johnson, Tennessee-Martin  
  WR Walter Powell, Murray State   LB Tony Bell, Tennessee-Martin  
  TE A.C. Leonard, Tennessee State   LB Nick Thrasher, Tennessee State  
  OL Justin Meredith, Eastern Kentucky LB Tra'Darius Goff, Tennessee Tech  
  OL Collin Seibert, Eastern Illinois   DB Nick Beard, Eastern Illinois  
  OL Dominic Pagliara, Eastern Illinois DB Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State
  OL Robert Myers, Tennessee State   DB Brandon Wicks, Murray State  
  OL Nick Borre, Eastern Illinois   DB Jourdan Wickliffe, Eastern Illinois  
  K Griffin Thomas, Jacksonville State P Chad Zinchini, Tennessee Tech  
  KR Walter Powell, Murray State   PR Shephard Little, Eastern Illinois  
  All-OVC Second Team  
  Offense   Defense  
  QB Ronald Butler, Tennessee State   DL Malcolm Mitchell, Tennessee Tech
  RB Tim Broughton, Tennessee State DL Chris Landrum, Jacksonville State
  RB D.J. McNeil, Tennessee-Martin   DL Marquaveus Jackson, Tennessee State
  WR Keiondre Gober, Eastern Illinois DL Dino Fanti, Eastern Illinois  
  WR Adam Drake, Eastern Illinois   LB Antonio Turner, Austin Peay  
  WR Paul McRoberts, SE Missouri State LB Bobby Ellis, Tennessee-Martin  
  TE Jeff LePak, Eastern Illinois   LB Ichiro Vance, Eastern  Kentucky  
  OL Max Holcombe, Jacksonville State LB Robert Haynes, Eastern Illinois  
  OL Wesley Sherrill, Tennessee Tech DB Pierre Warren, Jacksonville State
  OL Kadeem Edwards, Tennessee State DB Thad Williams, Tennessee-Martin
  OL Charles Sweeton, Tennessee-Martin DB Camaren Harris, Tennessee-Martin  
  OL Tyler Eady, Tennessee-Martin   DB David Van Dyke, Tennessee State
  K Jamin Godfrey, Tennessee State P Jordan Berry, Eastern Kentucky  
  KR Spencer Davis, SE Missouri State PR Walter Powell, Murray State  
  All-OVC Third Team  
  Offense   Defense  
  QB Jared McClain, Eastern Kentucky DL Anthony Brown, Eastern Kentucky  
  RB DeMichael Jackson, SE Missouri State DL Austin Black, SE Missouri State
  RB Taylor Duncan, Eastern Illinois   DL Caleb Lawrence, Jacksonville State
  WR Devin Borders, Eastern Kentucky DL Samquan Evans, Tennessee State
  WR Josh Barge, Jacksonville State   LB Travis Taylor, Murray State  
  WR Ryan Mitchell, Tennessee State   LB Sam Small, Murray State  
  TE Anthony Johnson, Jacksonville State LB Wisler Ymonice, SE Missouri State
  OL Mathew Axline, Tennessee-Martin LB Adam Gristick, Eastern Illinois  
  OL Demetri Rhaney, Tennessee State DB J'Vontez Blackmon, Tennessee-Martin
  OL Travon Carter, Eastern Kentucky DB Johnathan Shuler, Austin Peay  
  OL Harris Bivin, Murray State   DB Marty Jones, Tennessee Tech  
  OL Jimmy Lowery, Eastern Illinois   DB Kevin Barfield, Tennessee-Martin
  K Jackson Redditt, Tennessee-Martin P Hamish MacInnes, Jacksonville State
  KR Martine Stevenson, Tennessee State PR Ladarius Vanlier, Tennessee Tech