Zinchini second-team All-America; Four get all-conference selections

Zinchini second-team All-America; Four get all-conference selections


COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech's Chad Zinchini has received second-team All-America recognition from the website College Sports Madness, and four Golden Eagles were named to the organization's version of the Ohio Valley all-conference team.

Junior receiver Da'Rick Rogers was named second-team offense, while the third-team included senior offensive linemen Slade Adams and Michael Baker along with sophomore linebacker Tra'Darius Goff.

Zinchini led the OVC and ranked fifth in the nation with a 46.2 punting average, setting a school record in his first year on the roster. He is the first Tech punter to be named All-America since Steve Davis in 1979.

The OVC placed three players on the College Sports Madness first-team All-America list, two on the second-team, and four were named to the third-team.

The 2012 College Sports Madness FCS All-America Teams

First Team    
Offense                                                  Defense    
QB    DeNarius McGhee, Montana State    DL    Caleb Schreibeis, Montana State    
RB    Eric Breitenstein, Wofford               DL    Brandon Thurmond, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
RB    Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook        DL    Colton Underwood, Illinois State    
WR    Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois               DL    Lebrandon Richardson, Bethune-Cookman
WR    Brandon Kaufman, E. Washington    LB    Blake Peiffer, Southeast Mo State    
WR    Aaron Mellette, Elon                       LB    Ian Sluss, Portland State    
TE    Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard                    LB    Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State
OL    Mike Vuono, Lehigh                        LB    Stephon Robertson, James Madison
OL    Mike Sellers, Citadel                       DB    Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State
OL    Earl Watford, James Madison           DB    Jaquiski Tartt, Samford    
OL    Chris Howley, Maine                        DB    Cooper Taylor, Richmond    
OL    Patrick Ford, Eastern Kentucky        DB    Marcus Williams, North Dakota State
K    Colton Cook, Southern Utah                P    Andy Wilder, Northern Arizona    
KR    Jerodis Williams, Furman                   PR    Dominic Gunn, Northern Colorado

Second Team    
Offense                                                 Defense    
QB    Jamal Jackson, Appalachian State    DL    Jerry Ceja, Eastern Washington    
RB    Tim Flanders, Sam Houston State    DL    Zach Hodges, Harvard    
RB    Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona        DL    Joseph Lebeau, Jackson State    
WR    Nick Mayers, Old Dominion               DL    Cole Jirik, North Dakota State    
WR    Cordell Roberson, S.F. Austin            LB    Robert McCabe, Georgetown    
WR    Jordan Harris, Bryant                      LB    Matt Evans, New Hampshire    
TE    MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois           LB    Monte Gaddis, Towson    
OL    Aaron Adams, Eastern Kentucky        LB    Jordan Tripp, Montana    
OL    Tytan Timoteo, Weber State               DB    Nico Molino, Cal Poly    
OL    Kadeem Williams, Albany                   DB    Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State
OL    Jack Lowney, Old Dominion                 DB    Eric Loper, Villanova    
OL    Jack Templeton, Brown                       DB    Robert Alford, Southeastern Louisiana
K    Patrick Murray, Fordham                      P    Chad Zinchini, Tennessee Tech    
KR    Otis Wright, Wagner                          PR    Austin Shanks, Northern Arizona

Third Team    
Offense                                                  Defense    
QB    Casey Brockman, Murray State        DL    Dion Dubose, Georgia Southern    
RB    Zach Zenner, South Dakota State     DL    Jeremy Stephens, Butler    
RB    Terrance West, Towson                    DL    Cody Larson, Southern Utah    
WR    Quentin Sims, Tennessee-Martin      DL    Ryan Nearhoof, Robert Morris    
WR    Walter Powell, Murray State             LB    Jayson DiManche, Southern Illinois    
WR    Rico Richardson, Jackson State        LB    Wes Dothard, Chattanooga    
TE    Faysal Shafaat, Chattanooga            LB    Tanner Burch, Gardner-Webb    
OL    Mark Pratt, Youngstown State           LB    Todd Davis, Sacramento State    
OL    Jamie Dunaway, Gardner-Webb        DB    Johnny Towalid, Indiana State    
OL    Dorian Byrd, Georgia Southern         DB    Blake Wylie, Wofford    
OL    Billy Turner, North Dakota State        DB    Lucky Dozier, Northern Arizona    
OL    Cory Howard, Central Arkansas        DB    Ben Ericksen, Illinois State    
K    Jimmy Pavel, Eastern Washington        P    Matt Hubbard, Georgia State    
KR    Greg Hardin, North Dakota                PR    Walter Powell, Murray State