Scott Schweitzer named to FCS All-America team by College Sports Madness

Scott Schweitzer named to FCS All-America team by College Sports Madness

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech senior guard Scott Schweitzer has been named to the FCS All-America team for 2011 selected by College Sports Madness, a national website that covers and promotes collegiate athletics.

Schweitzer wrapped up his career last month by playing a major role for an offense that led the way for Tech to capture its first Ohio Valley Conference championship in 36 years. He was a first-team all-OVC selection.

With Schweitzer starting all 11 games, the Golden Eagles posted a 7-4 overall record and ranked among the OVC's top teams in total offense, rushing offense and passing offense. He started 42 of Tech's 45 games during his career, playing at three different position. The only games her missed were due to injuries. After opening his career at right guard as a redshirt freshman, he moved to left tackle as a sophomore. He was the starter at left guard for the past two years.  

A four-year letterman and three-year starter at Centennial High School in Alpharetta, Ga., Scott came to Tech after earning several team awards while anchoring the offensive line, including team captain. He was also an all-county pick.

The son of Chris and Kim Schweitzer, Scott is on schedule to graduate in May with a degree in exercise science and physical wellness.

Schweitzer becomes the 28th different Golden Eagle player to receive All-America recognition. He is one of six players in the OVC to be recognized by College Sports Madness.


Golden Eagles named All-America

Tech has had 28 players named All-America a total of 49 times by the Associated Press (AP), American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), Walter Camp (WC),The Football News (FN), Kodak (K), The Sports Network (TSN), Don Hansen's Football Gazette (DHFG), (TLC) and College Sports (CSM):

1939    Holmes Neal, T (AP)
1939    Creed McClure, G (AP)
1952    Tom Fann, T (AP)
1959    Tommy Hackler, E (AP)
1960    Tommy Hackler, E (AP)
1961    Dave Baxter, T (AP)
1969    Larry Schreiber, RB (AP)
1971    Jim Youngblood, LB (AP/AFCA)
1972    Jim Youngblood, LB (AP/AFCA)
1974    Elois Grooms, DE (AFCA)
1976    Ed Burns, OT (AP/AFCA)
1979    Steve Davis, P (FN)
1980    Wayne Anderson, PK (AFCA)
1987    Thomas Squires, LB (FN)
1989    Ryan Weeks, PK (AP/K/TSN)
1996    Robert Taylor, CB (AP/WC/TSN)
1998    Branon Vaughn, DE (TSN/DHFG)
1999    Branon Vaughn, DE (TLC)
1999    David Collett, PK (TLC/AP)
1999    Wes Gallagher, OG (AP)
1999    Joshua Symonette, DB (AP/TLC)
2000    Joey Bishop, OC (DHFG)
2000    D.J. Bleisath, DE (DHFG)
2000    Chad Evitts, LB (DHFG/AP/TSN)
2000    Troy Grant, DB (DHFG)
2000    Andrew McGraw, OG (DHFG)
2001    Joey Bishop, OC (DHFG)
2001    D.J. Bleisath, DE (AP/TSN/DHFG/WC)
2004    Frank Omiyale, OT (DHFG)
2004    Brandon Shelby, DB (DHFG)
2007    Larry Shipp, WR/RS (AP/TSN)
2010    Tm Benford, WR (TSN)
2011    Scott Schweitzer, OG (CSM)

Madness 2011 FCS Football All-American Teams

College Sports Madness Logo

Coach of the Year
Freshman of the Year

Bobby Wilder, Old Dominion
Terrence West, Towson

Offensive Player of the Year
Defensive Player of the Year

Shakir Bell, Indiana State
L.J. Fort, Northern Iowa

First Team


QB Chris Lum, Lehigh
DL Ben Boothby, Northern Iowa

RB Shakir Bell, Indiana State
DL Adrian Hamilton, Prairie View A&M                                                     

RB Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook
DL Zach Nash, Sacramento State

WR Aaron Mellette, Elon
DL Ben Obaseki, Indiana State

WR Ryan Spadola, Lehigh
LB Matt Evans, New Hampshire

TE Colin Anderson, Furman
LB L.J. Fort, Northern Iowa

OL Joe Faiella, Stony Brook
LB Blake Peiffer, Southeast Missouri St.

OL Henry Glackin, Towson
DB Ryan Steed, Furman

OL Troy McKenna, Lehigh
DB Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky

OL Nate Page, Wofford
DB Josh Norman, Coastal Carolina

OL George Bias, Stephen F. Austin
DB Kejuan Riley, Alabama State

K Zach Brown, Portland State
P David Harrington, Idaho State

KR Kevin Fogg, Liberty
PR C.J. Estelle, Tennessee-Martin

Second Team


QB Casey Therriault, Jackson State
DL Joseph Lebeau, Jackson State

RB Tim Flanders, Sam Houston St.
DL Blake Oliaro, San Diego

RB Nick Schwieger, Dartmouth
DL Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin

WR Tre Gray, Richmond
DL Corey Hart, Alabama A&M

WR Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington LB Athony Bowman, St. Francis (PA)

TE Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard
LB Jordan Ridley, Butler

OL Chris Powers, Eastern Washington LB Ryan Davis, Bethune-Cookman

OL Michael Mancini, Tennessee-Martin DB Marcus Williams, North Dakota St.

OL Malcolm Boyd, Liberty
DB Bryce Robertson, Bucknell

OL Jon Opperud, Montana
DB Asa Jackson, Cal Poly

OL Scott Schweitzer, Tennessee Tech DB Justin Bethel, Presbyterian

K Ryan Estep, Norfolk State
P Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion

KR Laron Scott, Georgia Southern
PR Darius Cary, McNeese State

Third Team


QB Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington DL Andrew Schaetzke, Georgetown

RB Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky DL Mario Kurn, San Diego

RB Jonathan Grimes, William & Mary DL Devon Langhorst, Dayton

WR Shane Savage, Cornell
DL Sackie Kerkulah, Howard

WR Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State
LB Clarence Bumpas, Nothern Colorado

TE Shadrae King, Robert Morris
LB Robert McCabe, Georgetown

OL Terrance Hackney, Bethune-Cookman LB Darius McMillian, Richmond

OL Dustin Waldron, Portland State
DB Lanny Kelly, Howard

OL O.C. Oram, Weber State
DB Daxton Swanson, Sam Houston St.

OL Dominique Allen, Central Arkansas DB Trumaine Johnson, Montana

OL Shea Allard, Delaware
DB Dovontae Johnson, Florida A&M

K Cameron Yaw, Samford
P Billy Janssen, Drake

KR Derrick Joseph, Towson
PR Darius Drummond, South Carolina St.