Golden Eagle football program receives more post-season honors

Golden Eagle football program receives more post-season honors

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech's Watson Brown received another nod as Ohio Valley Conference Coach of the Year and four Golden Eagle players were named to the all-OVC team chosen by College Sports Madness, a national website that covers collegiate athletics.

Brown had previously been voted the league's Coach of the Year in conference-wide voting after leading the Golden Eagles to a 7-4 overall record and a share of their first OVC title in 36 seasons. Tech advanced to the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs for the first time in school history.

The Golden Eagles were also represented with four players named to the website's all-OVC team, including three on offense and one from the defense.

On offense, Tech's selections were runningback Dontey Gay, wide receiver Tim Benford, and guard Scott Schweitzer. All three had previously been recognized by the league's vote.

On the defensive side of scrimmage, Golden Eagle senior defensive back Corey Watson was selected.

2011 Ohio Valley All-Conference Team selected by College Sports Madness

Ohio Valley FCS Football Logo

Ohio Valley Conference Page

Coach of the Year
Freshman of the Year

Watson Brown, Tennessee Tech
Spencer Davis, Southeast Missouri St.

Offensive Player of the Year
Defensive Player of the Year

Casey Brockman, Murray State
Blake Peiffer, Southeast Missouri St.


QB Casey Brockman, Murray State
DL Kevin Robinson, Murray State                                       

RB Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky DL Artavious Dowdell, Eastern Illinois

RB Dontey Gay, Tennessee Tech
DL D.J. Roberts, Tennessee- Martin

WR Chris Wright, Eastern Illinois
DL Jamison Wadley, Jacksonville State

WR Tim Benford, Tennessee Tech
LB Kevin Hamlin, Easten Kentucky

TE Sam Hendricks, Eastern Illinois
LB Blake Peiffer, Southeast Missouri St.

OL Scott Schweitzer, Tennessee Tech LB Sam Small, Murray State

OL Patrick Ford, Eastern Kentucky
DB Dontrell Johnson, Murray State

OL Michael Mancini, Tennessee-Martin DB Corey Watson, Tennessee Tech

OL Sherman Carter, Tennessee State DB C.J. Estelle, Tennessee-Martin

OL Raymond Hopson, Murray State
DB Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky

K Kienan Cullen, Murray State
P Joe Vucic, Southeast Missouri St.

KR Tavares Crawford, Eastern Illinois PR C.J. Estelle, Tennessee-Martin

College Sports Madness has covered FCS football all season. The season started by providing in-depth previews of the Top 44 FCS football teams. During the regular season the Madness provided an updated FCS Top 25 each week, recognized players of the week for each conference, and updated a projection of the FCS playoff bracket each week. Playoff coverage <>  includes a capsule profile of each team in the field of 20, game breakdowns for each round of the playoffs and a continuously updated playoff bracket.