Benford, Schweitzer receive All-America nod from The Sports Network

Benford, Schweitzer receive All-America nod from The Sports Network

View the complete FCS All-America team announced by The Sports Network

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech seniors Tim Benford and Scott Schweitzer were named Monday to The Sports Network/ All-America football team, capping off a year in which the pair helped lift the Golden Eagles to the Ohio Valley Conference championship and first appearance in the FCS Playoffs.

Benford, a 6-1, 195-pound wide receiver from Chattanooga, is a second-team selection while Schweitzer, a 6-5, 300-pound offensive guard from Alpharetta, Ga., is a third-team pick. It was the third different All-America team to include Schweitzer. Both players were first-team all-OVC selections, while Benford was also named the OVC Offensive Player of the Year.

Benford, a fourth-team All-America pick by TSN as a junior, led the Ohio Valley Conference in 2011 in both receptions and receiving yards, setting school career records in both categories. He finished the year with 65 catches for 923 yards and five touchdowns. His career numbers of 217 receptions and 3,104 yards both rank second in OVC history.

Schweitzer was previously named to All-America teams by and Associated Press.

The Tech pair are among seven players from the OVC named to TSN All-America teams, including one first-team pick, two second-team selections and four on the third-team listing. The first-team selection is UT Martin punt returner C.J. Estelle. Joining Benford on the second-team is SEMO linebacker Blake Peiffer. The third team included Schweitzer, Murray State quarterback Casey Brockman, EKU defensive lineman Emory Ettig, and Tennessee State linebacker Rico Council.

A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries selected the TSN All-America based only on the regular season.

FIRST-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington, Sr., or Chris Lum, Lehigh, Sr.; RB - Shakir Bell, Indiana State, So.; Terrance West, Towson, Fr.; FB - Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Jr.; WR - Aaron Mellette, Elon, Jr.; Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington, Jr.; Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, Jr.; TE - Colin Anderson, Furman, Jr.; OT - Chris Crockett, Sam Houston State, Sr.; Brett Moore, Georgia Southern, Sr.; OG - Gino Gradkowski, Delaware, Sr.; Nate Page, Wofford, Sr.; C - Travis Watson, Sam Houston State, Sr.; PK - Zach Brown, Portland State, Sr.; KR - Kevin Fogg, Liberty, Jr.

FIRST-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Adrian Hamilton, Prairie View A&M, Sr.; Andrew Schaetzke, Georgetown, Sr.; DT - Ronnie Cameron, Old Dominion, Sr.; Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Jr.; LB - Wes Dothard, Chattanooga, So.; Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Jr.; L.J. Fort, Northern Iowa, Sr.; Caleb McSurdy, Montana, Sr.; CB - Bryce Robertson, Bucknell, Sr.; Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, So.; S - Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, Jr.; Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Jr.; P - David Harrington, Idaho State, Sr.; C.J. Estelle, UT Martin, Sr.

SECOND-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington, Sr., or Chris Lum, Lehigh, Sr.; RB - Tim Flanders, Sam Houston State, So.; Jonathan Grimes, William & Mary, Sr.; FB - Jake Romanelli, Cal Poly, Sr.; WR - Tim Benford, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; Brian Quick, Appalachian State, Sr.; Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State, Jr.; TE - Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard, Jr.; OT - Paul Cornick, North Dakota State, Sr.; Blake Matthews, Norfolk State, Jr.; OG - D.J. Hall, Texas State, Sr.; J.C. Oram, Weber State, Sr.; C - Bryan Boemer, Southern Illinois, Sr.; PK - Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa, So.; KR - Laron Scott, Georgia Southern, Sr.

SECOND-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Ryan Davis, Bethune-Cookman, Sr.; Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin, So.; DT - Ben Boothby, Northern Iowa, Sr.; Zach Minter, Montana State, Jr.; LB - Seth Allison, Central Arkansas, Jr.; Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Jr.; Blake Pfeifer, SE Missouri State, So.; Keith Pough, Howard, Jr.; CB - Trumaine Johnson, Montana, Sr.; Josh Norman, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; S - Justin Bethel, Presbyterian, Sr.; Alex Sewall, Indiana State, Sr.; P - Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion, Jr.; PR - Darius Carey, McNeese State, Jr.

THIRD-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Casey Brockman, Murray State, Jr.; RB - Jordan Brown, Bryant, Jr.; Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook, Jr.; FB - Brock Lough, Indiana State, Sr.; WR - Tre Gray, Richmond, Sr.; Chris Summers, Liberty, Sr.; Patrick Walker, Northern Colorado, Sr.; TE - Renty Rollins, Jackson State, Sr.; OT - Conrad Burbank, Montana State, Sr.; Tom Compton, South Dakota, Sr.; Orry Frye, Appalachian State, Sr.; OG - Joe Faiella, Stony Brook, Sr.; Scott Schweitzer, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; C - Jim Liebler, Lehigh, Sr.; PK - Adrian Mora, Georgia Southern, Sr.; KR - Austin Minefee, Southern Utah, Sr.

THIRD-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Corey Hart, Alabama A&M, Sr.; Ben Obaseki, Indiana State, Jr.; DT - Emory Attig, Eastern Kentucky, Jr.; Josue Ortiz, Harvard, Sr.; LB - Rico Council, Tennessee State, Sr.; Jody Owens, Montana State, Jr.; Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford, Jr.; A.J. Storms, Idaho State, Sr.; CB - Asa Jackson, Cal Poly, Sr.; Ryan Steed, Furman, Sr.; S - Jose Gumbs, Monmouth, Sr.; Serge Kona, Duquesne, Jr.; P - Patrick Murray, Fordham, Jr.; PR - Jabin Sambrano, Montana, Sr.

Note: The order of the first- and second-team All-America quarterbacks will released after the unveiling of the 2011 Walter Payton Award on Jan. 6.

Golden Eagles named All-America

Tech has had 28 players named All-America a total of 49 times by the Associated Press (AP), American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), Walter Camp (WC),The Football News (FN), Kodak (K), The Sports Network (TSN), Don Hansen's Football Gazette (DHFG), (TLC) and College Sports (CSM):

1939    Holmes Neal, T (AP)
1939    Creed McClure, G (AP)
1952    Tom Fann, T (AP)
1959    Tommy Hackler, E (AP)
1960    Tommy Hackler, E (AP)
1961    Dave Baxter, T (AP)
1969    Larry Schreiber, RB (AP)
1971    Jim Youngblood, LB (AP/AFCA)
1972    Jim Youngblood, LB (AP/AFCA)
1974    Elois Grooms, DE (AFCA)
1976    Ed Burns, OT (AP/AFCA)
1979    Steve Davis, P (FN)
1980    Wayne Anderson, PK (AFCA)
1987    Thomas Squires, LB (FN)
1989    Ryan Weeks, PK (AP/K/TSN)
1996    Robert Taylor, CB (AP/WC/TSN)
1998    Branon Vaughn, DE (TSN/DHFG)
1999    Branon Vaughn, DE (TLC)
1999    David Collett, PK (TLC/AP)
1999    Wes Gallagher, OG (AP)
1999    Joshua Symonette, DB (AP/TLC)
2000    Joey Bishop, OC (DHFG)
2000    D.J. Bleisath, DE (DHFG)
2000    Chad Evitts, LB (DHFG/AP/TSN)
2000    Troy Grant, DB (DHFG)
2000    Andrew McGraw, OG (DHFG)
2001    Joey Bishop, OC (DHFG)
2001    D.J. Bleisath, DE (AP/TSN/DHFG/WC)
2004    Frank Omiyale, OT (DHFG)
2004    Brandon Shelby, DB (DHFG)
2007    Larry Shipp, WR/RS (AP/TSN)
2010    Tm Benford, WR (TSN)
2011    Scott Schweitzer, OG (CSM/AP/TSN)
2011    Tim Benford, WR (TSN)