Guard Scott Schweitzer earns AP All-America honor

Guard Scott Schweitzer earns AP All-America honor

View PDF of the complete 2011 FCS AP All-America team

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech senior guard Scott Schweitzer has added another honor to his Golden Eagle football resume, earning a spot on the Associated Press (AP) All-America team, considered by many as the most prestigious All-America squad selected. It is the second FCS All-America team honor this month for Schweitzer, who was named last wee to the College Sports Madness All-America team.

Schweitzer is the first Golden Eagle named to the AP All-America team since Larry Shipp in 2007, and the seventh since 1999, including D.J. Bleisath in 2001, Chad Evitts in 2000, and David Collett, Joshua Symonette and Wes Gallagher in 1999.

Schweitzer is the first offensive lineman from Tech to receive any All-America nod since current Chicago Bear Frank Omiyale in 2004.

Schweitzer wrapped up his career in November by playing a major role for a Golden Eagle offense that led the way for Tech to capture its first Ohio Valley Conference championship in 36 years. He was a first-team all-OVC selection.

With Schweitzer starting all 11 games, the Golden Eagles posted a 7-4 overall record and ranked among the OVC's top teams in total offense, rushing offense and passing offense. He started 42 of Tech's 45 games during his career, playing at three different position and only missing three games in four years due to injuries. After opening his career at right guard as a redshirt freshman, he moved to left tackle as a sophomore. He was the starter at left guard for the past two years.  

The son of Chris and Kim Schweitzer, Scott is on schedule to graduate in May with a degree in exercise science and physical wellness.

Schweitzer becomes the 28th different Golden Eagle player to receive All-America recognition. He is one of five players in the OVC to be named to the AP All-America team.

Golden Eagles named All-America

Tech has had 28 players named All-America a total of 49 times by the Associated Press (AP), American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), Walter Camp (WC),The Football News (FN), Kodak (K), The Sports Network (TSN), Don Hansen's Football Gazette (DHFG), (TLC) and College Sports (CSM):

1939    Holmes Neal, T (AP)
1939    Creed McClure, G (AP)
1952    Tom Fann, T (AP)
1959    Tommy Hackler, E (AP)
1960    Tommy Hackler, E (AP)
1961    Dave Baxter, T (AP)
1969    Larry Schreiber, RB (AP)
1971    Jim Youngblood, LB (AP/AFCA)
1972    Jim Youngblood, LB (AP/AFCA)
1974    Elois Grooms, DE (AFCA)
1976    Ed Burns, OT (AP/AFCA)
1979    Steve Davis, P (FN)
1980    Wayne Anderson, PK (AFCA)
1987    Thomas Squires, LB (FN)
1989    Ryan Weeks, PK (AP/K/TSN)
1996    Robert Taylor, CB (AP/WC/TSN)
1998    Branon Vaughn, DE (TSN/DHFG)
1999    Branon Vaughn, DE (TLC)
1999    David Collett, PK (TLC/AP)
1999    Wes Gallagher, OG (AP)
1999    Joshua Symonette, DB (AP/TLC)
2000    Joey Bishop, OC (DHFG)
2000    D.J. Bleisath, DE (DHFG)
2000    Chad Evitts, LB (DHFG/AP/TSN)
2000    Troy Grant, DB (DHFG)
2000    Andrew McGraw, OG (DHFG)
2001    Joey Bishop, OC (DHFG)
2001    D.J. Bleisath, DE (AP/TSN/DHFG/WC)
2004    Frank Omiyale, OT (DHFG)
2004    Brandon Shelby, DB (DHFG)
2007    Larry Shipp, WR/RS (AP/TSN)
2010    Tm Benford, WR (TSN)
2011    Scott Schweitzer, OG (AP/CSM)

2011 Associated Press All-Americans from the OVC

LB - Blake Peiffer, Southeast Missouri (2nd Team)
QB - Casey Brockman, Murray State (3rd Team)
RB - Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky (3rd Team)
OL - Scott Schweitzer, Tennessee Tech (3rd Team)
DB - Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky (3rd Team)