Benford, Hilliard named all-OVC; Crawford on all-newcomer squad

Benford, Hilliard named all-OVC; Crawford on all-newcomer squad

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech sophomore Tim Benford was voted first-team all-OVC, senior Justin Hilliard received second-team all-OVC recognition, and senior Jocques Crawford earned a spot on the league's all-newcomer team for their performances in the 2010 football season.

Southeast Missouri State, the 2010 Ohio Valley Conference champions, took home two of the four major individual OVC postseason awards in voting conducted by league head coaches and sports information directors and announced on Tuesday.

Southeast Missouri State running back Henry Harris was named Offensive Player of the Year while his head coach, Tony Samuel, was named the OVC Roy Kidd Coach of the Year. In the other major awards, Eastern Kentucky senior defensive lineman Andrew Soucy was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year while Jacksonville State punter/quarterback Coty Blanchard earned the Freshman of the Year award.

Benford, a 6-1, 195-pound wide receiver from Chattanooga,was the only player to repeat as a first-team all-OVC offensive selection. He led Tech and ranked among the league leaders with 50 catches for 812 yards, and tied the school record with 10 touchdown receptions.

Hiliard, a 6-3, 285-pound defensive lineman from Pikeville, Tenn., ranked eight on the team overall and led all of the Golden Eagle defensive linemen wth 47 total tackles. He also had 6.5 tackles-for-loss, broke up two passes and blocked a kick.

Crawford, a 6-1, 238-pound runningback from Memphis, finished as Tech's top rusher with 625 yards on 118 carries, an average of 5.3 yards per try. He scored nine touchdowns, including three in the season-ending 35-24 win over No. 4 Jacksonville State. He was third on the team in all-purpose yardage with 649, including 24 receiving yards.  Crawford had two 100-yard rushing games.

The 2010 All-OVC Teams

2010 All-OVC Football Teams
OVC Offensive Player of the Year: Henry Harris, Southeast Missouri
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Andrew Soucy, Eastern Kentucky
OVC Freshman of the Year: Coty Blanchard, Jacksonville State
OVC Roy Kidd Coach of the Year: Tony Samuel, Southeast Missouri

QB - Matt Scheible, Southeast Missouri
RB - Henry Harris, Southeast Missouri  
RB - Mike Harris, Murray State              
WR - Marcus Harris, Murray State         
WR - Tim Benford, Tennessee Tech
TE - Cory Freeman, Jacksonville State
C - Sean Middleton, Southeast Missouri        
OG - Bryan Curry, Southeast Missouri   
OG - Frank Knights, Southeast Missouri        
OT - Curt Porter, Jacksonville State      
OT - Evan Conrad, Southeast Missouri 

DL - Andrew Soucy, Eastern Kentucky
DL - Spyros Bazigos, Eastern Illinois    
DL - Monte Lewis, Jacksonville State    
DL - J.J. Sanchez, Southeast Missouri  
LB - Nick Nasti, Eastern Illinois             
LB - Jordan Dalrymple, Eastern Kentucky
LB - Josh Bey, UT Martin
DB - Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky
DB - Keginald Harris, Jacksonville State        
DB - Tylor Brock, Southeast Missouri   
DB - Eugene Clifford, Tennessee State

K - Kienan Cullen, Murray State            
P - Kevin Cook, Eastern Illinois            
RS - Terrence Holt, Austin Peay                                    

QB - Casey Brockman, Murray State     
RB - Terrence Holt, Austin Peay
RB - Preston Brown, Tennessee State
WR - Orlandus Harris, Eastern Kentucky        
WR - Jeffrey Cameron, Jacksonville State
TE - Cody Bruns, Eastern Illinois
C - Tyler Ogletree, Jacksonville State
OG - Justin Kay, Jacksonville State      
OG - Alex Davis, Tennessee State        
OT - Gershom Jordan, Tennessee State
OT - Jeremy Buchanan, UT Martin

DL - Emory Attig, Eastern Kentucky     
DL - Jamison Wadley, Jacksonville State       
DL - Justin Hilliard, Tennessee Tech      
DL - Tim Cox, UT Martin                       
LB - Antonio Bonner, Jacksonville State        
LB - Joshua Jackson, Southeast Missouri      
LB - Justin Woodlief, Southeast Missouri
LB - Rico Council, Tennessee State
DB - CJ James, Eastern Illinois
DB - Patrick McClellan, Eastern Kentucky
DB - Dontrell Johnson, Murray State     
DB - Kendal Harper, UT Martin

K - James Esco, Jacksonville State      
P - Jordan Berry, Eastern Kentucky      
RS - Dontrell Johnson, Murray State

QB - Jimmy Garoppolo, Eastern Illinois
P - Jordan Berry, Eastern Kentucky      
DL - Anthony Brown, Eastern Kentucky 
RB - Darius Barksdale, Jacksonville State      
P/QB - Coty Blanchard, Jacksonville State     
DL - Marquis George, Jacksonville State
WR - Arthur Brackett, Murray State       
RB - Mike Harris, Murray State              
DB/RS - Dontrell Johnson, Murray State        
LB - Wilson Robinson, Tennessee State
RB - Jocques Crawford, Tennessee Tech

Note: The All-Newcomer team is comprised of first-year players in the OVC - that can be either true freshmen, redshirt freshmen or first-year transfers. The team consists of 11 total players and is not voted on by position.  There were 12 players on the All-OVC second-team (4 LB's) due to a tie in voting.