Benford, Adams head up Tech's all-OVC selections

Benford, Adams head up Tech's all-OVC selections

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Tech sophomore wide receiver Tim Benford (right) is a first-team selection and redshirt freshman offensive guard Slade Adams earned second-team honors when the Ohio Valley Conference announced the 2009 football all-conference teams.

In addition to those picks, Adams and redshirt freshman safety Caleb Mitchell were voted spots on the All-Newcomer team.

For the second straight year four different schools claimed the four major 2009 Ohio Valley Conference postseason awards. Jacksonville State senior quarterback Ryan Perrilloux was named Offensive Player of the Year, Murray State senior defensive end Austen Lane was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year, Eastern Kentucky redshirt freshman quarterback T.J. Pryor earned the Freshman of the Year award and legendary Eastern Illinois head coach Bob Spoo was named the OVC Coach of the Year.

Last year's OVC Freshman of the Year, Benford was named first-team at wide receiver. He caught 33 passes for 580 yard and two toucdowns. A 6-foot-1 speedster from Chattanooga's Red Bank High School, Benford has caught passes in all 22 games in his two seasons and has already climbed into Tech's career Top 10 for receptions (101) and receiving yards (1,362).

After sitting out the 2008 season as a true freshman, Adams (far left)  emerged in the Spring as the starter at guard for the Golden Eagles and handled that task for all 11 games in his rookie season. The 6-foot-6 product of Mt. Juliet (Tenn.) High School graded out at 85 percent. 

Mitchell (ner left) returned to action after spending a medical redshirt season in 2008, and was a starter in the secondary for all 11 games. He ranked second on the team in total tackles with 63 and was among team leaders in tackles-for-loss with 4.5 for a team-high 33 yards. A 6-foot-1 product of Russellville (Ala.) High School, Mitchell led Tech with three fumbles caused and also recovered two fumbles. He had two interceptions and had 12 passes defended.

Twelve players were selected to the All-OVC Newcomer squad. To be selected to the team an individual had to be a first-year player (freshman or transfer) in the OVC.

Awards were voted on by OVC head football coaches and sports information directors.

OVC Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Perrilloux, Jacksonville State
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Austen Lane, Murray State
OVC Freshman of the Year: T.J. Pryor, Eastern Kentucky
OVC Roy Kidd Coach of the Year: Bob Spoo, Eastern Illinois

QB - Ryan Perrilloux, Jacksonville State
RB - Ryan White, Austin Peay
RB - Terrence Holt, Austin Peay
WR - Tim Benford, Tennessee Tech
WR - James Wilkerson, Jacksonville State
TE - DeAngelo Nelson, Murray State
C - Chaz Millard, Eastern Illinois
G - Tylor Chambers, Jacksonville State
G - Stanley Brooks, Austin Peay
T - Derek Hardman, Eastern Kentucky
T - Joe Gibbs, UT Martin

DL - Austen Lane, Murray State
DL - Trevor Frericks, Eastern Illinois
DL - Andrew Soucy, Eastern Kentucky
DL - Brandt Thomas, Jacksonville State
LB - Alexander Henderson, Jacksonville State
LB - Josh Bey, UT Martin
LB - Daniel Becker, Austin Peay
DB - Eugene Clifford, Tennessee State
DB - T.J. Heath, Jacksonville State
DB - Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky
DB - CJ James, Eastern Illinois

K - Austin Signor, Eastern Illinois
P - Kienan Cullen, Murray State
RS - Terrence Holt, Austin Peay

QB - Jake Christensen, Eastern Illinois
RB - Brandyn Young, UT Martin
RB - Mon Williams, Eastern Illinois
WR - Garnett Phelps, Eastern Kentucky
WR - Derrick Townsel, Murray State
TE - Cory Freeman, Jacksonville State
C - Reggie Wade, Jacksonville State
G - Willie Henderson, Eastern Illinois
G - Slade Adams, Tennessee Tech
T - Chris Campbell, Eastern Illinois
T - Curt Porter, Jacksonville State

DL - Rocky Dee Peeler, Austin Peay
DL - Perry Burge, Eastern Illinois
DL - Chris Hall, Eastern Kentucky
DL - Kellen Woodard, Tennessee State
LB - Jordan Dalrymple, Eastern Kentucky
LB - Tamar Butler, Murray State
LB - John Jones, Jr., Tennessee State
DB - Kevis Buckley, Austin Peay
DB - Rashad Haynes, Eastern Illinois
DB - Carnell Clark, Jacksonville State
DB - Anthony Levine, Tennessee State

K - Kienan Cullen, Murray State
P - Doug Spada, Southeast Missouri
RS - Derrick Townsel, Murray State

QB - Jake Christensen, Eastern Illinois
RB - Mon Williams, Eastern Illinois
QB - T.J. Pryor, Eastern Kentucky
WR/RS - Alan Bonner, Jacksonville State
DL - Torrey Davis, Jacksonville State
WR - Greg Smith, Jacksonville State
RB - Jamal Young, Jacksonville State
LB - Justin Woodlief, Southeast Missouri
LB - John Jones, Jr., Tennessee State
OL - Slade Adams, Tennessee Tech
DB - Caleb Mitchell, Tennessee Tech

RB/RS - Jason McNair, UT Martin

Note: The All-Newcomer team is comprised of first-year players in the OVC - that can be either true freshmen, redshirt freshmen or first-year transfers. The team consists of 12 total players (due to a tie) and is not voted on by position.