Golden Eagles walk off, win 10-inning thriller over Murray State

Golden Eagles walk off, win 10-inning thriller over Murray State

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. - A six-hour rain delay and eighth-inning rally by Murray State weren't enough to prevent the Tennessee Tech baseball team from collecting its 31st win of the season Saturday evening as the Golden Eagles (31-12, 18-5) defeated the Thoroughbreds (17-25, 6-14), 10-9, in 10 innings.

For the second straight contest, the Golden Eagles took advantage of Murray State miscues to win their 11th series of the season. The Breds raced back from a six-run deficit in the eighth inning, tying the game at nines runs apiece.

Zach Zarzour led-off the bottom of the 10th inning, singling through the left side to put the winning run on first. Senior Austin Wulf came to the plate ready and willing to lay down a sacrifice bunt to move Zarzour into scoring position. The plan worked better than anyone could have thought as Wulf laid a perfect bunt down the third base line, easily making it to first for his second base hit of the game.

The bunt was so good, Murray State pitcher Cameron Wallace (1-1) tried to force a throw to first even after Wulf made it to the bag. The throw sailed over first baseman Mike Kozlowski's head allowing Zarzour to score the walk-off, game-winning run from second base.

Four Tech players managed multi-hit games, including Zarzour, Wulf, Zach Stephens, and James Abraham. Both Zarzour and Stephens collected doubles in the contest and shortstop Dylan Bosheers legged out a triple down the right field line.

Brandon Thomasson and Bosheers both collected two RBI against Murray State, leading the Golden Eagle effort. Seth Lucio (3-1) garnered his third win of the season, striking out three batters in three innings of work. He allowed no earned runs and just one run overall.

The Golden Eagles will go for the series sweep on Sunday as Jacob Honea will look to duplicate last weekend's dominant performance that saw the sophomore toss 8.1 innings of shutout ball. Game time is set for 1 p.m. CDT.