Oberacker one of 25 players on John Olerud Two-Way Watch List

Oberacker one of 25 players on John Olerud Two-Way Watch List

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- Golden Eagle junior Chad Oberacker has been named to the John Olerud Two-Way Player Award watch list as announced by College Baseball Foundation.

The watch list is composed of 25 collegiate baseball players from across the country. Oberacker, and outfield/pitcher, is one of three stars from the Ohio Valley Conference included on the list. He is joined by Morehead State senior Michael Bottoms and Southeast Missouri State junior Michael Adamson.

The "Ole" Award was created in 2010 and recognizes a player who makes an impact both on the mound and at the plate. John Olerud was a two-way player at Washington State who received Freshman All-America and All-America honors as both a first baseman and pitcher. Olerud was also named the Baseball America College Player of the Year.

Oberacker leads the OVC in batting with a .440 average. He also tops the league charts in hits (84) and doubles (23) while scoring 51 runs and knocking in 52 RBI in 44 games. On the mound, Oberacker has appeared in 11 games, netting a 1-2 record and 6.86 ERA. He has 18 strikeouts in 21 innings of work.

The John Olerud Award will be presented on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas as part of the College Baseball Awards Show.

Complete John Olerud Two-Way Player Award Watch List
Name School Conference: 
Jake Smith Alabama SEC
Brett Eibner Arkansas SEC
Ben Koenigsfeld Army Patriot
Kolbrin Vitek Ball State MAC
Brooks Pinckard Baylor Big 12
Tyler Pill Cal State Fullerton Big West
Nick Ramirez Cal State Fullerton Big West
Josh Conway Coastal Carolina Big South
Andrew Heck Duquesne Atlantic 10
Bo Reeder East Tennessee State Atlantic Sun
Tom Heithoff Evansville Missouri Valley
Mike McGee Florida State ACC
Brian Johnson Florida SEC
Jerrud Sabourin Indiana Big 10
Braden Kapteyn Kentucky SEC
Justin Robichaux Louisiana Lafayette Sun Belt
Justin Guidry Middle Tennessee State Sun Belt
Michael Bottoms Morehead State OVC
David Mills Notre Dame Big East
Joe Leonard Pittsburgh Big East
Billy Barber Richmond Atlantic 10
Michael Adamson Southeast Missouri OVC
Chad Oberacker Tennessee Tech OVC
Danny Hultzen Virginia ACC
Sam Roberts Virginia Military Big South