Student-athletes among May graduates in Saturday's ceremonies

Student-athletes among May graduates in Saturday's ceremonies

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – Nearly four dozen students from athletics were among the more than 1,200 who graduated Saturday from Tennessee Tech. Most were on hand for the commencement ceremonies in Eblen Center.

The Golden Eagle football and soccer teams led the way with nine student-athletes on the list of spring graduates. These graduates leave Tech following one of the most academically successful years.

The 14-team department posted their highest combined GPA in school history during the fall semester, with four teams – men’s basketball, soccer, women’s golf and men’s golf – each registering the highest semester GPA in the history of their sports for Tech Athletic teams. The composite GPA was 3.216, eclipsing the previous semester high mark of 3.196, which was achieved in the 2010 spring semester.

The department also saw student-athletes earn prestigious academic awards. Men’s basketball player Dennis Ogbe was named to the Capital One Academic All-America® Division I Basketball Team selected by CoSIDA. He rightfully deserved it as he accumulated a 3.91 GPA in electrical engineering while finding success on the court.

Cross Country and track athlete Meghan O’Donoghue was the recipient of one of Tennessee Tech’s most premier honors, the Derrberry Award. The Derryberry Award is given to a graduating senior who has displayed moral and academic integrity, campus involvement, good citizenship, leadership qualities and physical vigor. O’Donoghue did just that, earning a 4.0 GPA while double majoring in French and political science, while competing in track and cross country, and serving as a school ambassador.

The list of student-athletes who graduated on Saturday, following by photographs of several of them: 

Student-Athletes and Managers:
Chuck Acheson (softball)
Jordan Adams (football)
Ronquez Beech (football)
Britnie Bobrick (soccer)
Corey Boyd (soccer)
Matthew Brown (football)
Rebecca Cline (cross country/track)
Drew DeLorenzo (cross country)
Vasily Eremeev (tennis)
Ross Fanning (basketball)
Kayla Floyd (softball)
Diamond Henderson (basketball)
Tanner Garland (golf)
Lee Gatts (football)
Sarah Gawthrop (soccer)
Bud Golden (football)
Mason Griffin (golf)
Ashleigh Hancock (volleyball)
Molly Heady (basketball)
Leigh Heffner (soccer)
Matt Hewett (strength)
Mitchell Hill (basketball)
Margarett Holder (track)
Emily Homan (soccer/sports info)
Kendall Hooper (softball)
Ellie Iaciofano (soccer/basketball)
Mary Gray Johnson (soccer)
Kelli Keck (track)
Erin Keyes (track)
Jarod Lee (football)
Matt Marseille (basketball)
Justin Matheney (football)
Cody Matthews (football)
Amelia McCoy (cross country/track)
Meghan O'Donoghue (cross country/track)
Dennis Ogbe (basketball)
Candace Parson (basketball)
Randall Reeves, Jr. (football)
Elise Robertson (volleyball)
Shannon Rountree (soccer)
Jeremiah Samarrippas (basketball)
Tevis Sherfield (baseball)
Nathan Snow (cross country)
Elisa Tanksley (track)
Parker Teeter (football)
Justin Wakefield (basketball)
Nick White (football)
Jessica Wilson (soccer)
Peri Winborne (cross country/track) 

Shown below are many of the graduates as they prepared to walk onto the floor. 

Jordan Adams, Football

Tanner Garland, Golf

Ashleigh Hancock, Volleyball

Vasily Eremeev, Tennis

Molly Heady, Women's Basketball

Cody Matthews, Football

Dennis Ogbe, Men's Basketball

Jessica Wilson, Soccer 

Peri Winborne, Track/Cross Country

Rebecca Cline (Track/Cross Country) and Amilia McCoy (Track/Cross Country)

Bud Golden (Football) and Jeremiah Samarrippas (Men's Basketball)

Mitchell Hill (Men's Basketball), Sarah Gawthrop (soccer), and Ross Fanning (Men's Basketball)

Emily Homan (Soccer/Sports Info), Ellie Iaciofano (Soccer/Women's Basketball), and Leigh Heffner (Soccer)

Kelli Keck (Track and field) and Diamond Henderson (Women's Basketball)

Erin Keyes (Track and field) and Elise Robertson (Volleyball)

Candace Parson (Women's Basketball) and Matt Marsielle (Men's Basketball)

From left: Tevis Sherfield (Baseball), Zachary Bailey (Men's Basketball), Parker Teeter (Football), Randall Reeves (Football), and Nick White (Football)